The Kingdom of Werkland is a state that lies off the coast of the Continent. It is a major world power, and has its origins in the late Dragon Age, having been formed out of four kingdoms, three of which had been conquered by the Dragon-men (also known as Båtflygtninge or Båtflyktingar), before being recaptured by the Low Kingdom. It takes its name from the great earthwork walls, built in Oiran times, that divide the four regions from each other.

Basic territorial divisions

The Kingdom of Werkland is divided into five major regions. These regions are the North, the Swamplands, the Midlands, the Lowlands, and the Overseas territories. Each region is divided into shires, which can vary in size and population, and on the Werkland Mainland they are generally contiguous with the shire boundaries from the end of the Four Kingdoms Period. On the Werkland mainland, the regions' borders are marked by the Werks, just as the Four Kingdoms, with each of which the regions are roughly contiguous in terms of borders, were.

In the case of the Overseas Territories, each individual territory is its own shire (Though if they are big enough, they are sometimes divided into multiple shires). Some island groups are clustered together as a single shire.


Each shire elects two representatives every three-four years. One of those representatives goes to the regional council, and the other sits in the Folk's Hall of the Folkmeet, in Sporton. The Folk's hall is the lower chamber, with the upper chamber of the Folkmeet being the Earls' Hall. Each shire is represented in the Earls' Hall by a hereditary Earl.

The Folk's hall has legislative and monetary power, though acts that go through it have to be reviewed and amended by the Earls' Hall, and then by the Monarch. The Monarch can dissolve the Folk's Hall and call for an election, though this is almost exclusively used in the case of a hung parliament. If needed, it is possible for the Folk's Hall to force a bill through the Earls' Hall, but it requires an overwhelming majority in favour, and is thus not a common occurrence. Executive power is appointed by the monarch (Who maintains the right to hold it themself), generally the power is given to the head of the majority in the Folk's Hall.

This appointee (formal title: First Man of the King of Werkland's Government, generally just called the First Man) is generally held to account by the Folk's Hall, though it is possible for him to be summoned before the Earls' Hall. In this event, he can be thrown from office by a vote in the Earls' Hall, though this is extremely rare. The last time this power was used was to remove from power a man who was not even a member of the Folk's Hall, but was merely a general who was a favourite of the King of the time, and it almost resulted in a civil war.

The Earls' Hall has the main function of reviewing and amending laws proposed by the Folk's Hall, as well as the powers mentioned in the above section. Unlike the Folk's hall, the King may not remove a member of the Earls' Hall for normal crimes. The only case which allows an Earl's replacement is if that Earl has been convicted of treason, or of corruption, or of murdering a man outside of personal, ritualised combat.

The Earls' Hall also has the function of approving new monarchs. Upon the death, abdication or deposition of a monarch, it is normal for that monarch's firstborn son to become the new monarch. However, if the Earls believe that that individual would not be an appropriate monarch, they can select a different member of the Royal Family of Werkland. They must choose somebody who is a brother, sister, son, grandson, daughter, granddaughter, nephew, niece or cousin of the previous monarch.

Basic History


The Kingdom of Werkland was formed in the late 900s N.A. in response to Dragon-men invading and conquering three of the Four Kingdoms. The southernmost kingdom, known as the Low Kingdom, led the subsequent reconquest of the other three kingdoms. The royal families of the Middle Kingdom, the Kingdom of the Swamplands, and the Kingdom of the North had all been killed by the Dragon-men, and therefore the king of the Low Kingdom added their titles to his own, before finally, after the reconquest was completed, unifying them into one title: the Kingdom of Werkland.

The Kingdoms hadn't been united since Oiran times, and the great Oiran walls known as Werks that separated the regions still stood three thousand years later. The kingdoms of old became the highest level of region, with the Low Kingdom being the primary among them, and its capital Sporton becoming the capital of the new Kingdom.

Shortly after the founding of Solenjord (Mostly by dragon-men fleeing the reconquest and trying to find a new home), the two kingdoms formed an informal alliance, with the Solenjorders agreeing to keep their relatives in the Archipelago from raiding in Werkland, in exchange for helping with keeping the initial colonies in Solenjord alive, and for not stopping Dragon-men from crossing Werkland on their way to the new land across the Sunnesea.

When the Konigtum attacked Solenjord, Werkland came to the aid of their allies with ships, and when the Konigtum retaliated by invading Werkland, they were repulsed with Solenjorder aid.



Support TerraChronica