The Continent


The Konigtum is a major power on the Continent, and has existed for around one and a half thousand years. In the mid 1900s N.A., it went through a major civil war and became a republic.

The Five Hertowdoms Since the founding of the Konigtum, there have been five principal Hertowdoms (In Reichisch: Herzogtümer)[In regular English these would be duchies]: Täuben, Rheuch, Wälderland, Teischen and Drachenmark. There is a particular way in which titles pass from one person to another: Normally, it passes from a father to his first surviving son, however, if a man dies without a son, the title passes to the Konig, who then chooses who has the title. Usually a close member of the same family, such as a brother or close cousin is chosen, although there have been rare cases in which the title has been given either to a much more distant relative or to an entirely new family. Unfortunately, doing so has resulted in civil wars more than once, which has naturally made it a rather rare occurrence.

Electing the Konig With the title comes the power to elect the Konig, who is almost exclusively chosen from members of one of the so called "Five Families" that hold the five titles. One of the principal Wahlgesetze (Laws of Choice, the rules for electing the Konig, first formally written down in 1225 N.A., but which had been forming as informal rules for much longer) is that neither a titleholder nor his heir may also be Konig. This means that if a man wants to be Konig, (Candidates must put themselves forward) he must be prepared to relinquish all previous titles, as well as any claims to any other titles, upon winning the election. The winner is compensated for this by gaining both the title of king, and direct control of one of the richest areas of the Konigtum, Stadtland, which includes the capital of Taubstadt. If he was a title holder, the title goes to his first surviving son. If he doesn't have one, he can choose who gets it. If he was the heir to a title, then if he has a brother, that brother will inherit, and if not, he will chose who the title goes to upon his father's death.

Regional and National Identity With time, this division of the Konigtum into six areas led to ethnic divisions between regions, with large differences between clothing, customs and dialects. As the state became more organised, these regions gradually gained regional autonomy from the central power in Taubstadt, though never to the point of declaring independence. Despite (sometimes rather significant) regional differences, there was also a growing sense of national identity, known as "Reichischheit". You could be Wäldisch, Teisch, Täubisch, Rheuchisch, Stadtländer or Markisch, but you were always Reichisch. This national identity was strongly aided in the mid to late 1800s by the institution of national schools, which had to teach in Standard Stadtländer Reichisch, which had become the de facto national language. This also led to occasional (partly true) accusations of attempts at suppressing regional cultures.



Support TerraChronica